80’s vs Electro, Various Artists

This double disc compilation is a showcase of classic ’80s synth pop/dance/electro tracks by artists such as Tears for Fears, Kraftwerk, Gary Numan, Laidback, and music by

current electronic music artists doing the ’80s electro sound. These latter group of artists include Fischerspooner, Playgroup, (John) Selway, gusgus, and Royksopp among others.

Hightlights of this compilation are M/A/R/R/S’ classic “Pump Up the Volume,” Mathias Schaffhauser’s cover of Icehouse’s “Hey Little Girl” (that is reminiscent of Depeche Mode) and Royksopp’s single “Remind Me.”

It should be noted that this album tends to lean more on the current electronic music side, with a greater number of songs losing the retro for “electro.”

For those who like the above ’80s artists, and would like to hear some new takes on the ’80s sound, this compilation is bound to please.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.