Sport shorts

By Brad Halasz

Women’s volleyball

Jesse Knight was named the full-time head coach of the University of Calgary Dinos women’s volleyball team. Knight was interim-coach for the 2008-09 season. He led the Dinos to 16-4 record and won a silver medal in the Canadian Interuniversity Sport volleyball championship.

Next year will be his second season with the Dinos and he will look to take the team all the way and win the gold. Knight was assistant coach for the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds before coming to Calgary. He helped the Thunderbirds win the national championship last year. He replaced long-time head coach Kevin Boyles after Boyles became the Dinos athletic director.

Women’s basketball

Women’s basketball head coach Shawnee Harle has recruited one of the top players in Calgary.

Tilly Ettinger, a Saint Mary’s Saints high school point guard, will don the red and yellow next season.

Ettinger was recently awarded the Dr. Arlene McGinn award recognizing the top female high school basketball player in Calgary.

Ettinger is the Saints all-time leading scorer and spent three years at the Canada Basketball Centre for Performance.

She finished her high school career with a city championship this season.

Dinos athletics

The annual award night for the Dinos will be held at the Red and White Club near McMahon Stadium on March 31. This night recognizes the achievements of the Dinos athletes throughout the school year.

The night recognizes the male and female athletes of the year, rookies of the year, volunteer awards and the Gauntlet Extra Effort award given to a male and female who display heart and determination in their sport.

The nominees for female athlete of the year all come from teams that had tremendous success this season, with three athletes winning championships. Holly Harper (volleyball), Heidi Erdle (wrestling), Hanna Kubas (swimming), Heather Sim (cross-country and track and field) and Katie Urness (hockey) are the 2009 nominees.

The male nominees for the award sees three Canada West champions and a national gold medal winner.

Ross Bekkering (basketball), Andrea Bonaventura (football), Sam Effah (track and field), Travis Friedley (hockey) and Matt Walter (football) are the nominees.

Nominees for female rookie of the year are Shelby Davey (hockey), Erica Morningstar (swimming) and Ali Sandholm (volleyball).

Chris Hoag (volleyball), Brock Nixon (hockey) and Andy Rochon (basketball) are the nominees for male rookie of the year.

Leave a comment