SU election announces candidate selection

By Chris Beauchamp

Nominations are closed on three of five Students’ Union executive positions in this year’s SU General Election.

The presidential race is closed, with current Residence Students’ Association president Emily Wyatt squaring off against two-time SU vice-president events Alex Vyskocil, current operations and finance commissioner Andrew Lahey, and newcomer Mark Armstrong.

The 2006 VP events position will be a slug-fest between Dino wrestler Beamer Comfort and current events commissioner Eric Jablonski. Meanwhile, current external commissioner Mike Soron and humanities faculty representative Julie Labonte will spar over the VP external position.

The VP positions for academic and operations and finance were still open at press time as only one candidate had applied in each race.

The commissioner races for academic, external, and events are also all closed with over 20 candidates vying for the positions. There are four commissioner positions for each executive portfolio.

SU president Bryan West will be competing against newcomer Jordan Besouw for the University of Calgary Board of Governors student rep position. The races for a number of faculty representative positions, the senate rep spots and operations and finance commissioners are also still open.

A complete listing of candidates will be posted on the doors of the SU offices in MacEwan Student Centre Thu., Feb. 2. Polls will be open Feb. 14-16.

Leave a comment