Publication YearIssue Date 




Jean Agnew • Katerina Atherholt • Diltaj Atwal • Melanie Bethue • Devon Fetkenher • Liv Ingram • Kate Jacobson • Ann Karras • Jenny Lau • Kayla Lissel • Samantha Lucy • Fernando Moreno • Matthew Parkinson • Sonny Sachdevon • Conner Sadler • Andrea Sanchez-Ponton • Tiffany Sengsavang • Justin Seward • David Song • Scott Strasser • George Wang • Jocelyn Yet • • • This week’s Golden Spatula goes out to all y’all who voted “yes” for the CJSW referendum. Good on you for understanding that a campus is more than a degree mill, and voting to add a little bit of culture, community, and really good music to our daily lives on campus. Losing might suck, but that’s democracy for ya, so we’ll dig in our heels and try again next time. This Golden Spatula, though, is for those who emphatically voted in favour. We salute you.

March 12, 2014
  Parkour! Parkour! Parkour! Parkour!PDF files may take a moment to load

Parkour is about getting from point A to B in the most efficient and graceful way possible, navigating any obstacles in your path. Parkour athletes can be seen running, jumping and vaulting through urban environments around the world.

The Calgary parkour scene is among the biggest in Canada and is getting a boost. Breathe Parkour, a company which started by publishing a magazine, recently opened up Calgary’s only parkour gym.

March 12, 2014
  The desolation of Roberto LuongoPDF files may take a moment to load

Two Olympic gold medals, four National Hockey League all-star selections, one Hart trophy nomination for the league’s most valuable player, three Vezina nominations for best goalie and one game seven loss away from a Stanley Cup. This is the resume of an elite goaltender, an asset any NHL general manager would surely never throw away.

Vancouver GM Mike Gillis would apparently beg to differ.

March 06, 2014
  Winners in SU election announcedPDF files may take a moment to load

After two weeks of schmoozing, postering and campaigning, the winners of the 2014–15 University of Calgary Students’ Union election have been announced.

Chief Returning Officer Chris Yan took the stage at the Den to reveal the results last Thursday. To a raucous crowd, Yan announced Jarett Henry as the 72nd SU president. Henry received 36 per cent of the vote.
Bombarded with hugs and high fives, Henry was overcome with excitement.


Subscribe to RSS - 2014-03-13